I Don’t Understand “Wealth”

Or, for lack of a better term, money-hoarding. My parents are always stressing the need to get a high-paying job, and I just can’t relate. I don’t care about money. All these CEOs making 15 million dollars a year… what do you do with that? What’s the point? I only want enough money to live comfortably. And, I suppose, living comfortably to me may be completely different from other people. Really, I just don’t want to have a lot of stuff. I don’t want to hoard cars and electronics, or boast the size of my backyard swimming pool. I don’t need to travel the world, or retire early and live in luxury until I die. I just want to be able to buy food, have a home, and support myself and whoever is part of my life without money worries. I feel like having too little or too much money can only lead to problems, and I would rather be comfortable somewhere in between. And for that, I don’t need to be at top of a company or working for the largest corporations. I just want a simple life where I can be happy. Why is that so hard to understand?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

8 responses to “I Don’t Understand “Wealth””

  1. youngandtwenty says :

    I’ve learned there’s a real sense of happiness that’s so unexplainable but definently not able to be bought. Such a great perspective to ahve, keep on that path 🙂

  2. eddy says :

    I know exactly what you mean. 2 years ago I quit a high paying sailing job to pursue my dreams. My parents have accepted my decision but they too find it hard to understand why I don’t want to earn a lot of money.

    I guess it’s not their fault. They’ve been brought up in a society in which hoarding is encouraged. Consumerism it’s called. Advertising tells you to buy all these products and triggers your happiness centers by showing smiling beautiful people in the ads. You think you’ll be happy if you just buy more.

    But happiness has nothing to do with how much money or stuff you have. No matter how rich or poor you are happiness will come and go followed by sadness that too will come and go. It’s a cycle. People try to hold on to happiness and avoid sadness and the cycle slows down. But if you just flow through it, you’ll live a fuller life.

    Today’s generation has seen the height of materialism and consumerism and at least a few are realising that it doesn’t make sense.

  3. vanillachai14 says :

    Completely agree!

  4. Deborah says :

    Who wants to work at a job that drains your soul for money. I think the hidden agenda here is sometimes that it’s not just about wealth in terms of buying, but the belief that wealth means power and status. And I suppose it does, but I don’t want that kind of power or status.

  5. TheBitchWhoKnits says :

    I agree!
    Add how hard it is to find decent jobs and be treated well, at least in this area it’s becoming harder and harder to find and employers no longer care….
    I’ve already come to terms that I will work til I die. I just want to live simply, grow my own veggies and raise some chickens. How nice would it be to work for yourself??

  6. Gerri says :

    Went to school, became a Registered Nurse, liked it for a while, payed for my own apartment, started making me crazy, became unhappy, did not want to pass that unhappiness on to my own kids, quit to the horror of family members–what about the money? they would ask. The money didn’t matter. My inner happiness is what mattered and through the years, I’ve always managed to get along. So much happier!

    • janinerussell says :

      Thank you for telling your story. I think there’s a lot of us out there who worry about what would happen if this career we think we want doesn’t work out. And the truth is things will work out somehow and you’ll probably be happier because of it. Glad life is looking up for you! And congratulations on having the courage to do what’s best for you!

Join the Conversation

