But What Do You Do…

…if the inspiration to write never hits?

Tags: , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

4 responses to “But What Do You Do…”

  1. eddy says :

    “Inspiration is for amateurs. The rest of us just show up and get to work.” Chuck Close.

    I might be paraphrasing but what he means, and I agree, is that if you just sit down and start, sit at the typewriter and start bleeding, as your blog quotes Hemingway, the inspiration follows.

    Art is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration. I’m again paraphrasing someone but as I writer I’ve found that you need to stick to a writing schedule and allow yourself to write complete shit most of the time. I hate what I write a lot of the times. But I know that with a lot of rewriting I can make it better. And then sometimes I’m just inspired and great stuff that pours out. That happens very less and if I sit around for that to happen I’ll take a decade to write a book. Which many writers do actually. So I have no idea what I’m talking about. But I’m just writing here. The act of writing brings out stuff from somewhere deep within you. Do you know what I mean? Coz at this point I sure don’t!

    I love your blog.

  2. Paul Davis says :

    Write until it does.

  3. Paul Gauchi says :

    Patience. There is always a moment when you feel you cannot write or draw or paint, but it will come. Sometimes I just close my eyes and imagine about stuff. Or I light some candles, turn off the liight and look at the shadows in the room. The images give birth to worlds creating in my imagination and my dreams are what gives my inspiration flight.

  4. agusttitin says :

    Wait until I have something interesting to write.

Join the Conversation

