How To Be A Better Failure

Failure sucks, especially when you know you’ve worked really hard, tried your best, and failed anyways. That’s what I’m going through right now I with a finance course I’m taking at university. I did all the readings and practice tests, and was doing pretty well on them. Then I took the exam, and failed. To make it even worse, I’m a perfectionist. It’s hard for me to face the fact that this is something I’m just not good at no matter how hard I try.

I faced a similar situation over the summer when I took a music course that I spent about 10 hours a day for a month practicing for, and failed the final exam anyway. Luckily I got to re-test, and ended up passing the second time. That doesn’t mean I wasn’t devastated after the initial failure, and spent a few hours bawling my eyes out and beating myself up for not being good enough.

So, what should we do when faced with failure?

Accept it. You can’t change the past, but you can learn from it. Stop being so much of a perfectionist! You aren’t perfect. No one is. So stop expecting perfection from yourself. Don’t let the fear of failing stop you from trying again. Tomorrow is a new day, and you have the opportunity to make it better than today. Never give up on yourself.

And if you’re looking to practice failing (because let’s be honest, if we failed more we wouldn’t be so devastated by it when it happens), try something new that you know you won’t be good at. Take up knitting. Challenge someone to a game of pool. Learn to swim if you can’t already *shifty eyes*. The more you realize that failure doesn’t mean you’re a deficient human being, the easier it will be to accept it and move on.

Keep on fighting. You can do it.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

5 responses to “How To Be A Better Failure”

  1. Lucky Wreck says :

    I really loved this post. I’ve felt that way several times, like I’ve tried and tried, but failed anyway. I am a perfectionist, too, and always felt anxious, worthless and devastated if I failed. In fact, that is the very reason I started to blog! To help me feel okay about failure.

    Thank you for sharing your wisdom, courage and strength about this! Reading your experience and your outlook on it helps me to feel stronger, too! 🙂

  2. S says :

    This post is amazing! I have failed so many times in my life and sometimes I felt like all I could do is fail so I wouldn’t even try, but I learned that sometimes you have to fail in order to pick yourself back up and try again because it takes time to be great at something. I really like your blog and this again this post is amazing!

  3. eddy says :

    Failure is great. It teaches you so much about yourself and about what not to do in order to succeed. The more you fail the higher your chances of succeeding becomes. The biggest successes in life are those who have failed the most. The key is never giving up. The day you give up is the day you’ve really failed permanently. If you don’t give up each failure is a lesson learned and a step taken towards success.
    Success is momentary. It can make you arrogant. Soon you’ll find that you’ve failed again and have to start working hard again.
    If success is the destination, failures are the milestone on the journey to success and we all know that the journey is more important than the destination.

  4. east and west coast auto says :

    It’s great to find someone so on the ball

Join the Conversation

