Does Anxiety Ever Stop Being Anxiety?

Does there ever come a day when you can look back on your struggles with anxiety, all the problems it has caused in your life, and all the things you’ve done to help yourself, and be able to say:

“Today it is over. Today I came out a winner, and now the struggle is over. I have beaten my anxiety, overcome my fear, and can now go back to living a regular life” ?

Are you ever free from anxiety? Does anyone ever win when it comes to anxiety?

Do you ever get to live your life freely without the anxiety being in the back of your mind, terrorizing your thoughts like a cancer in remission? The fear that maybe today is the day that it will come back with a vengeance, and your life will be devastated just as it was when this all began?

Does the struggle ever really end?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

15 responses to “Does Anxiety Ever Stop Being Anxiety?”

  1. jameswilliaml says :

    Surprisingly yes. I had terrible anxiety that was coupled with paranoia which kept me inside almost an entire fall. It’s permeated every thought, even action, everything that I’ve done since high school. I never raised my hand, I was always self conscious, there was never a time that there wasn’t that hint of apprehension about doing anything because it was so severely generalized (think showering).

    Then I went on one drug, and then another, and four hours later it was all gone. Gabapentin worked magic on me and I’ve actually spent the past two months trying to figure out how to live without that negative voice. It was there for so long that all my perverted logic to get around it and strange thoughts had to be rewritten.

    But yes, it can go away. Lorazepam did amazing things for me to give short term relief. Geodon took the edge off, more lamictal did too. So it’s taken an army, but it worked in the end.

    One can come out of anxiety and go: what next? I hope you discover that too.

    • janinerussell says :

      I’m doing much better with my anxiety, but I am curious about your comment. I’ve never thought of medications as a solution personally. I feel like in a sense they would just be blocking you from feeling the things you are meant to feel. I don’t recall ever suffering from some of the things you’ve described, however, and I realize that if the anxiety is preventing you from living it is best to do what you need to to get on the road to recovery. Out of curiosity, were the medications intended for a short amount of time? Or are they prescribed for the long term?

      • jameswilliaml says :

        My anxiety is due to bipolar disorder, which is why it’s so severe. And I’m only out of a mood state for maybe 2 months a year. As it’s currently shaping up this year, I’ll never be out of a mood state. So feeling what I should feel is something that doesn’t really apply to me or worry me. Hence why I’m completely down with medication and why I have so many.

        And gabapentin, when combined with those meds, has removed anxiety from my life completely. I’m not joking. None (I’m on a very high dose too). I’ve nearly been in a car accident on a highway and only gotten a jolt of adrenaline. And unlike most worries about not feeling things properly, it is freeing and I experience life viscerally and immediately. There is no haze or worry or negative force against acting on things. I just do them, I no longer procrastinate, and everything comes that much easier. I feel like I’m supposed to feel, one where there is no cloud hanging over experiences.

        All the medications are permanent. I’ll be on them until I die or until geodon rots out my memory/brain to the point that I can no longer function. Proper medication can do things that therapy can only scratch at in the end. Therapy is good, and necessary, but combined with meds, wow, the results can be incredible.

  2. Scorpion Sting says :

    I think that your question will never have an answer. One could say that living in the past leads to no future. On the other hand, while forgetting the past seems to be a solution, it’s not the answer. Anxiety is a part of our lives, we need it to function and survive. Without it we would not be able to be aware of anything, and that might be a bit dangerous.

  3. panikikubik says :

    Hello, if you have time, feel free to visit my blog who is about anxiety and panic disorder. In my recent post I show a video where a young man explains in a very good way how it feels to suffer from agoraphobia. Wish you all the best!

  4. bellmk says :

    Unless you use substances (drugs and alcohol increase anxiety overall) yes, it does. Eventually you just get too old and too tired to bother being anxious anymore. You get to a point in live where everyone is either a kid or an elderly person, or on an equal par with yourself. Those “perfect people” with the bad attitudes discover that they, too, can break a leg or suffer from ulcerative collitis, and we all just calm the heck down. Sometime in your thirties, usually.

    Date: Mon, 18 Nov 2013 18:35:40 +0000 To: catharine@pemevents.com

    • janinerussell says :

      You really believe the best way to beat anxiety is to just put up with it until you stop caring anymore? That’s a very pessimistic way to look at life. I don’t believe that growing older and becoming too bored to bother having emotions is a solution. Caring is what makes us human.

  5. eddy says :

    Will anxiety ever end? No.
    Will the struggle with anxiety ever end? Definitely yes. Once you learn to accept it for what it is and don’t build it up too much. When you avoid thinking about the stuff that is making you anxious and pass time till it’s too late, then anxiety builds up and gets too overwhelming and becomes a struggle.
    Meet it early. Listen to it. Face the fears. Clear the doubts. And go ahead anyways.

    • janinerussell says :

      I absolutely love this 🙂 I wish I could tell every anxious person exactly what you’ve just said. You sum up the process that everyone with anxiety needs to go through so clearly. I feel like if more people realized this and didn’t expect a pill to solve their problems for them, we could have a lot more recovered anxiety sufferers and a lot less who are just waiting for the change to happen for them. I’ll admit I, too, blamed everything around me for my anxiety problems, and never looked to myself for the answer. It was there, though, underneath all the curious manifestations of my anxiety were the insecurities that drive it. I feel that knowing this is the only way to accept yourself as you are, and keep fighting even when it would be easier to just hide. Thank you so much for sharing your wisdom, Eddy.

  6. Jessica LeAnn says :

    No. But it will, with time and work, become manageable. I’ll never forget the two weeks that I lived on my couch afraid. I was afraid of myself, really. I now have a “plan” that works for me. When I feel anxious, I tell myself all of the things I need to hear and then force myself to get out of my head for a while. Watching TV is my saviour. It gets me out of my head every time. I’m happy to say that I’m not feeling anxious too often anymore and though I always fear it’ll come back one day and put me on my ass again, I take comfort in knowing that I have the tools to deal with it next time. For me, it was short-term medication and talk therapy that helped. But ultimately, it was ME who got myself off that couch.

    • janinerussell says :

      Fantastic. Hearing other people’s stories of strength and overcoming their anxiety gives me hope that one day I won’t struggle at all. Just like you said though, even when things are fine it’s there in the back of my mind, and I am scared that one day it will come back full swing. Congratulations on your recovery!

  7. Priceless Joy says :

    Absolutely!! YES YES YES!

Join the Conversation

