Happy Birthday, Blog!

Today marks my blog’s first birthday! (Well, actually yesterday, but I didn’t get to finish this post yesterday.) I thought it would be cool to take a look back at some memorable moments from the past year, and see where we are now.

November 12, 2012
Day one of my blog. At the time, I’ll admit that I was struggling. I was having anxiety attacks, and was having a hard time adjusting to living on my own in a new city. And worst of all, I had no one to talk to about it. I never expected to become a blogger, but as I have in other times of pain and desperation, I began to write. And this time I decided to open up in what I figured was a sufficiently safe and anonymous way. I had no idea where I would be going with it, and I didn’t know if anyone would ever read it. Still, I decided to just let go and write, in hopes that it would somehow help me find some answers.

January 19, 2012
One day, I wrote a post as a “hey, look how awesome my blog is” because I had just reached 50 followers in just 3 months. 50! I felt like a superhero! 50 people around the world wanted to hear more about my story as it was being written. I decided to write a post about blogging so that other bloggers could have a blog as awesome as mine. Although, admittedly, I had no real experience in the matter, I just knew what I liked and assumed my way was the best way. A few days after that post, it got featured on Freshly Pressed. Now I really did have something to brag about! Note the irony: an amateur blogger finds blog success by blogging about blogging.

In the days that followed being Freshly Pressed, my views and follows skyrocketed. I went from 50 followers one day to 800 two days later. Oddly enough, I wasn’t enjoying blogging as much. I was now writing for my new followers, the ones who liked the humour and advice I offered them in the post that caught their attention. It took a few weeks to realize that nothing has changed. Sure, people were reading my blog, but I was still struggling with anxiety and the issues of trying to live like an adult. I decided to stop checking my follows and likes, and just focus on the feedback I was getting, and how we can all help each other. By changing my attitude about what a “good blog” is, I was more able to accept myself and what I was going through, and now knew I had the support I needed to carry on. That’s what has kept me here despite the problems of life, school, and working getting in the way.

Where are we now?

Well, it’s been a year and thanks to that Freshly Pressed tidal wave, we’re now over 2100 followers! Even cooler than that, there have been people from 115 different countries (some I didn’t even know existed) reading my blog, and helpful comments from all walks of life. I don’t know how much this blog has influenced my readers, but for me it’s a safe haven. If I have a problem, I have people to ask for help. If I’m scared, worried, or just need to talk, there’s people to listen.

Really, I think the comments from everyone else are the best part about blogging. It’s not about me. It’s about what we create when we open up to people without worrying about being judged. It’s amazing how you guys have supported me through my battles with anxiety, and were always there to offer me a hand if I fell down or got off track. It means a lot to me that you’re there for me.

Thank you for being part of this past year, and I hope you’ll stick around for the next one.

-Janine

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

5 responses to “Happy Birthday, Blog!”

  1. panikikubik says :

    Congratulations to you and to your blog!!

  2. 300andsixtyfivethoughts says :

    woooohooo happy birthday and congratulations!! 🙂

  3. Priceless Joy says :

    I am a new blogger and I look forward to reading more of your writing. BTW, I am from the “Four Corners”, USA (Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado, Utah).

  4. Priceless Joy says :

    Oh yes, I know about anxiety! I think it is an illness that can be managed by correct medication, and by staying away from the situations that cause it. I was helped tremendously when I began getting my self esteem back. Plus medication. Plus staying away from situations/people that caused it. I hope that also works for you. 🙂

  5. rosaniabastos says :

    Much better to be remembered.

Join the Conversation

