Go Ahead, Put Yourself First

One thing I’ve learned over the course of this exam period (well, actually this whole highly stressful year), is that you need to put yourself first sometimes. Not all the time necessarily, but sometimes, definitely. It doesn’t make you selfish. It doesn’t mean you care any less about the people close to you, or that you aren’t good enough to them. If you took as good care of yourself as you take of everyone else, you’d be a super-person. In fact, you are so great to everyone else, you owe it to yourself to spend some time appreciating yourself. You’re no good to anyone else when you’re burnt out. So take some time for yourself, and do what really makes you happy.

Beach

(Photo credit: Moyan_Brenn)

We might all be having very different experiences, but I’m pretty sure this is something everyone knows all too well. That feeling when you get home from a long day and don’t have it in you to make a salad and some rice, and opt for a grilled cheese instead. When you planned to go to the gym in the morning, but your body refuses to let you get up, telling you to stay here instead where it’s warm and safe. When you’re at work trying to do your job, but all you can think about is what else you could be doing with this time, and it’s eating away at you inside.

Maybe what you want is to go shopping for shoes, or a fancy coffee. Maybe you need to get away for a bit, clear your head. Go for a hike, sit by a waterfall, relax on a beach. Or maybe you just want to spend a few hours on the couch with no one around to tell you to put pants on or to go empty the trash, no crying baby or nagging parents. It can even be just taking 15 minutes to close your eyes when you’re feeling drained. We all need to relax sometimes, and even though sometimes life feels like a never-ending stress spiral, it’s important to step back and refuel every once in a while.

This is your chance to show how much you appreciate your body, mind, and spirit for holding up this long. After all, without those things, you’d literally be nothing.

What will you do to treat yourself?

Tags: , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

7 responses to “Go Ahead, Put Yourself First”

  1. Hanno Phenn says :

    I cook myself a fancy Dinner and Eat a Candlelight Dinner with my absolute favourite Music playing in the Backround.

  2. Christopher says :

    My favorite is to have an entire day where no one cares what I do. Especially me. 😀

  3. writemybrainsout says :

    I think I’ll have a glass of wine after work =)
    Thanks for this reminder that I matter, too. Easy to forget sometimes.

  4. Ben says :

    I have an hour long commute each way to work. I spoil myself by taking a 20-30 min nap when I get home before diving into other responsibilities. Who am I kidding, it usually ends up 30-40 minutes 😉

  5. jdcandidatewhofigureskates says :

    I’m still learning to say “No” and not feel guilt-ridden and selfish. I am making strides towards looking after myself and my own interests. Great post!

  6. banbuongiaynu says :

    Reblogged this on EVASHOES and commented:
    Nói đến học thì chúng ta học cả đời và thi cả đời ko ngừng nghỉ

Join the Conversation

