I Want to Write a Novel

I’ve decided I want to write a novel. Right now I’ve only begun to think about it, but I will try to do some serious work on it this summer once I’m done with classes. I’m not going to talk about the plot of it on here (sorry!) because I want to keep my ideas safe, but I will say at least a little bit.

If you haven’t noticed from reading my blog, I like to write about what I know. It’s a lot easier for me to talk about something I’ve experienced than it is to let my imagination wander and write fictional stories. Therefore, my story will be largely based on my own experiences, but with significant differences. Despite parts of my own life, the novel will be fiction.Ā I don’t really know yet how the story will develop, but I’m sure it will come to me once I get writing.

As for the goal of the book, that part is very clear in my mind. When I was a teenager, I learned a lot about growing up, relationships, and values from the female heroines who I clung to and wanted to be like. I learned from their mistakes, and in turn set values for myself. There are some things I didn’t have to experience for myself, but felt like I understood. Through them I have lived those experiences.

I want to write my book for teenage girls. I want to create something that will start a conversation, or at least make them feel like they aren’t alone in what they’re going through. I want to address issues that I feel like society isn’t open enough about, or that girls need more information about now, when it counts the most. And most of all, I want to help young girls who are confused, scared, or struggling. Those are the ones I want to reach with my novel, and hopefully help them to find a way to get through it.

If anyone has written a novel and can give any tips on how to go about it, though, I’d love to hear them!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

11 responses to “I Want to Write a Novel”

  1. browntroutfisherman says :

    Great news – go for it.
    I always had a hankering to write a book but never got close although I did write a ‘year in the life of’ series last year about my learning about green wood working in 2012 which I subsequently turned into a 7 part blog which I enjoyed writing and actually, as it was about me and what I knew and was chronological, It came pretty easily
    I can’t give you any advice but I do wish you well with your project šŸ™‚

  2. C.J. Black says :

    Yes good luck with the project – it has already started.

  3. averythorne says :

    Find inspiration and develop a story around it. That’s what I did for my own book, which I am now doing a blog with. Just try and think of something that you’d really want to write about, and try and make characters and events that relate to the topic.

  4. Hanno Phenn says :

    What are you waiting for .You have started when you beguine this blog. I believe in you .You have a great Gift. Just Go for it.

  5. sabcooke says :

    My blog frequently discusses my writing process and progress, so that might be some use for a general idea.

    It’s simple to write a novel if you have some routine. Have a goal and write each day, always try to achieve that goal. Don’t worry about your length, just write until your story is told. But make sure you write every day, it’s essential to build momentum, which you’ll need when you begin to hate it. And trust me, you’ll hate it.

    Once you have that first draft done, set it aside. Set it aside for weeks, months, however long it takes for you to completely forget what happens. Then, take it out of that dusty drawer and start to edit it.

    Rinse and repeat for the 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th draft… how many you need!

    Most importantly, know how long it takes. At best you’re talking about 4-6 months. On average you’re talking 8-12. Good luck and welcome to the wonderful world of novel writing, once it bites it never lets go!

    I have a ‘contact me’ section on my blog. If you want to email me I’d love to offer any guidance, help or lend an ear to rants about your novel. It’s extremely helpful to have someone there for accountability so you stick with it!

    • janinerussell says :

      Yeah, I’m not too worried about the timeline since it will just be a side project when I’m not working. Good advice though. And thanks for the support!

      • sabcooke says :

        It’ll start that way, but then you’ll know too much and be incapable of escape. And that’s when the real writing begins šŸ˜‰

  6. Julia says :

    Everyone works differently, but I found it was helpful to divide my plot (which I’d already determined from beginning to end) into scenes. It helped me to work more visually (show, don’t tell), and I think I would have been overwhelmed without that path to follow.

    I then wrote the novel from beginning to end, without much editing as I went. For me, this was the hardest part. Writing a scene from a blank page was usually rough.

    When I was done, I printed out the entire thing and read it, making quick notes with a pen in the margins, but never stopping to actually make any changes – I wanted to get the effect of the whole novel. It’s like an artist making sure his or her whole canvas is sketched out correctly before they begin to work out the details. And let me tell you, the writing was nowhere where I wanted it to be, especially at the beginning of the novel. But I did realize as I read on, that there were things about the story that pulled me along – there was a natural readability after a while. At least I knew that the core story was right.

    Editing was easier for me than writing from scratch. And when I worked, I’d give myself a time frame rather than word count goal. I’d tell myself I had to sit and concentrate on nothing but the novel for a certain number of hours, and if I only got 1-2 pages written, so be it. Of course some days the writing flowed more easily, and I’d get a lot done.

    About eight drafts later, it felt pretty much finished, and I started trying to get an agent. That’s a whole other ballgame, with lots of summaries and outlines and query letters. I got a few nibbles from agents I liked, but it hasn’t gone anywhere yet. It’s on hold for now, because I wanted to just get back to enjoying writing again, rather trying to sell writing I did in the past. (That’s where my blog comes in.)

    Good luck to you!

  7. rubyredfort says :

    Go for it. When I write. I just look around the room, get the creative juices flowing, and just write whatever is in my mind. I recommend finding a title for your novel after you’ve written it.

  8. Ritu KT says :

    I have loved your writing style right from the day i came across your blog. I have never written a book but I am going to try this April. I am a participant of Camp NaNoWriMo April2013. They also have a session in July.
    You can check it out at http://campnanowrimo.org/
    All the best!

Join the Conversation

