What I Need From You

I don’t need you to fix all my problems, I just need you to listen and let me rant.
I’m sorry for the times I get jealous. You should be flattered that I think any girl would be lucky to be with you.
I don’t need you to pay for everything when we go out. Yes I complain about being poor, but I’ll get by.
You don’t have to know exactly what you want out of life right now. Believe me when I say it doesn’t bother me.
I don’t expect you to understand my spending habits. Just don’t tell me what practical things I could have bought instead of those shoes. I don’t criticize how much you spend on beer and video games.
You don’t have to constantly tell me I’m beautiful. I just want to hear it once in a while, and know that you really mean it.
Sorry if I get on your case for little things. I really just want you to be happy.
Please let me know if I say something that annoys you. I don’t understand you as much as you think I do.
I don’t need to hear how much you love me, I just like it when you say it because you want to say it, not just because I expect you to say it.
Thank you for doing the little things that make me happy, like taking me to my favourite waterfall.
You don’t have to spend every second of your life with me, but understand that sometimes I do need you there.
I know I seem naive at times. I’m still young, and some lessons I still need to learn the hard way.
You need to be able to put up with my mood swings. Trust me, if it were up to me they wouldn’t happen.
When something’s wrong, sometimes I need a shoulder to cry on. You can wash your t-shirt tomorrow.
Please don’t judge me for being indecisive or impulsive.
I know I’m very uncertain a lot of the time.
Despite it all, though, I’m never unsure about us. Thanks for being there.

Tags: , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

6 responses to “What I Need From You”

  1. Gabby Kincaid says :

    Wow, great post! You so succinctly said everything I’ve ever thought while in a relationship.

  2. Hanno Phenn says :

    what a wonderful written piece .you really touched me.

  3. Whitney says :

    We’re the same person. I’ve have something similar to this sitting in my drafts for days!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. What I Need From You | Pages From Her Book - March 6, 2013
  2. What I Need From You | girlgonesocial - March 7, 2013

Join the Conversation

