4.5 The Humour Factor

As I have probably mentioned before, James’s chapter has been significantly harder to write than any of the others so far. I think it’s because I can’t seem to find the words to say what our relationship is, was, or is becoming. So now I’m going to try to piece it together, bit by bit.

I should probably warn here that there is going to be some humour in this post that might be offensive. If you get offended easily, this is an invitation to pass on this post.

Humour is a huge aspect of our relationship. We can laugh about things that other people would definitely judge us for. It means a lot that we can be open about what we find entertaining, and that it is the same for both of us. I can think of one specific joke that James told me that I found absolutely hilarious. I’m kind of ashamed to admit it, really, because it is kind of bad. Okay, it’s really bad. But while we’re being open and honest here, I might as well tell the joke.

James: What’s the difference between a watermelon and a dead baby?

Me: I don’t know.

James: I don’t come on my watermelon before I eat it.

Now that I think about it, this is kind of a disturbing joke. But at the time, since I wasn’t expecting it, I laughed really hard. Not the “this is completely acceptable” kind of laugh, but more of a “I can’t believe anyone would come up with something so disgusting” kind of laugh.

Oddly enough, that’s the kind of humour that seems to work best for us. We used to spend a lot of time driving, and when we got tired of listening to music, we would put on a CD of David Cross, who’s worst jokes would make me laugh so hard I would cry. And then James would just look at me with a big, stupid grin on his face and say “You’re TERRIBLE.”

Well, maybe. But if I’m a terrible person, he definitely is too. It doesn’t have to make sense to people.

English: Comedian Louis C.K. performs for serv...

Louis C.K.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And if you want to hear my favourite comedian, Louis C.K., talk about words we probably shouldn’t be talking about, mainly “faggot”, “cunt”, and “nigger”, click here. I swear it’s hilarious. And I’m not trying to be offensive here. He’s just freaking hilarious. Seriously, spend a few minutes and have a good laugh. Just, maybe not at work or around children.

Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

6 responses to “4.5 The Humour Factor”

  1. patriciaduffin says :

    Totally agree! I also believe that is the key to long relationships: finding someone to laugh with and keeping the jokes rolling! The weirder the humor the better!

  2. oldcoatnewbook2 says :

    Louis C.K is a great comedian. Have you seen his show? It’s pretty brilliant.

  3. lexborgia says :

    Louie is funny yes, but an acquired taste. James’ birth-control joke is not funny(2me), it’s horrible, maybe thatz what makes it funny(what else is there to do but laugh), but it’s way beyond the pale and beyond offensive, A pale rider. Louie, and his partners in crime, are all on comedy central. Cheers.

Join the Conversation

