5 Things To Do To Start Accepting Your Past

I’m not sure if anyone here has stumbled across it, but I wrote this post for the blog “5 things to do today” and it was published a few days ago.  They asked me to write a post that fits their 5 things framework, but that really represents the writer and their blog. You can read that post by clicking here.

Well, to be honest I was a little bit disappointed with the success of the article on that blog. It got four “likes”, which I wasn’t overly thrilled about. It wasn’t my best post ever, but I don’t think it was bad either. I understand that my post wasn’t really the same as the rest of them, which are often things like cool ways to spend your time or try something new.

Then it occurred to me that a post like that requires context. I tried to make it generalizable to anyone who is reading it’s life. Without knowing why I wrote something like that, though, it doesn’t make sense. There is no reason for someone reading it to believe I know what I’m talking about in any way. It almost feels like I was trying convince people who don’t know they have a problem to 1) realize they have a problem and then 2) try to fix it. But how can you heal if you don’t know you’re broken?

I like to leave most of my posts on a happy note, though. Today when I checked on my post again, I read the comments. Two comments were left, and both were very appreciative of what I had written. I can’t reach out to everyone, but I feel like I’ve helped those two people. If I can help even one person with something I write, then it’s worth it. I’m glad I was able to reach them.

Best of luck to both of you, as well as anyone else who has learned something about themselves from my writing. You make writing rewarding for me. So in return, thank you.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

One response to “5 Things To Do To Start Accepting Your Past”

  1. Roberta McDonnell says :

    I liked it! And I can see how someone struggling with issues might get uplifted by your words. Thanks for your kindness 🙂

Join the Conversation

