The World Is Trying To Tell You Something

At the beginning of the month, I set a goal for myself with regards to this blog. At the beginning of the month I had probably about 30 followers. My goal was to reach 50 followers by the end of January. I knew then that this was mostly out of my control. All I could do was keep writing things I care about, keep trying, keep hoping. So that’s exactly what I did. Some things were good, some were terrible. Every post is a part of me, and I read every single comment that I get in response.

Becoming Freshly Pressed was completely unanticipated. I was ecstatic, though, and am still reeling from the incredible results it has had for my blog, and for my confidence in my writing in general. And because of that, I now have over 500 lovely followers.

When something exceeds your expectations by so much (ten times what I was hoping for!), you have to take a second to really pay attention. Why did this happen? Was it just luck? Is the world trying to tell me something?

I have always had doubts about what I’m doing with my life. I am doing a business degree not because I wanted to do it, but because my parents forced me into it. I had no say in the matter. I’m not about to drop out of school and become a writer, but I am definitely thinking about how I will incorporate writing into my future.

Writing makes me whole. It makes the world make more sense. It makes me happy, even if I can’t tell the people closest to me what’s going on in my life. As well, blogging has taught me that even when hundreds of people like what you’ve written, there will always be a few who hate it. Or link their post back to yours just so that they can bash it and insult you for creating that monstrosity.

Writing is hard. You open you soul to people who don’t know you, and can’t control what kind of feedback you’ll get. Often the feedback is okay, just not what you were hoping for. Other times a real conversation begins as people find ways of connecting to the things you say. Sometimes you’ll really be able to strike a chord with someone who is swayed by emotion at your words.

Everywhere you look there are words of discouragement towards writers and artists of all kinds. People will tell you you can’t make that a career. You will be poor and unhappy. I love writing, but the fear of being deemed “unsuccessful” is enough to hold me back from doing what I really want. I’m an emotional person, and for people to read the bare, honest truth and tell me it is wrong is hard for me to handle. I’ve wanted to write a novel for a long time, but the fear of going nowhere has always held me back. Now, though, I’m tempted to try anyways. Screw the haters.

Maybe it was all a coincidence that just happened to come at a really important time for me. Whatever the reason, I’m definitely going to pay more attention to what’s going on around me from now on, and keep looking for signs from the universe that will hopefully point me in the right direction when I start to feel lost.

When the world does try to tell you something, will you be listening?

Tags: , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

17 responses to “The World Is Trying To Tell You Something”

  1. vandammetienne says :

    I hope to be freshly pressed on day too :p I have 22 follower, even less than you had back then :/

  2. somethingnewyear says :

    Great post and so honest. I wondered whether you’ve told any of your friends/family about your blog? It sounds like you haven’t, but I hope your confidence grows and you show people what you’ve achieved on here: you have a lot to be proud of! Amanda

    • janinerussell says :

      Hey Amanda. Love the stilettos by the way.
      Well, my parents, sister, and boyfriend all know that I blog. Sometimes I’ll tell them what I’m writing about, but usually I don’t. My sister is the only one who would be able to find the blog if she looked, but I don’t think she cares enough to. I don’t really want my boyfriend reading it because there are some things I would rather he not know too much about. One of my friends reads my blog too, but she only knows so much about my life because she lives far away now so I don’t feel the need to hide things from her.

  3. erinorange says :

    I feel kind of similar career-wise, I think you’ll be able to incorporate writing into your future career, I studied different things and I always end up writing in some capacity – I think what you’re good at will shine through – which is definitely writing for you! πŸ™‚ Defo do the book.

  4. Cheryl Paroyan Photography says :

    I’m trying so hard to become a photographer and I hear all the time how impossible it is to become successful and how competitive it is. It can be so discouraging but I don’t want to give up so I keep hanging in there. Negativity does stink. Keep at it, even if it’s just for you.

  5. niteshadow53 says :

    I’ve followed you since you were freshly pressed and I love your writing! It’s incredibly honest and as a fellow blogger something I can totally relate to. I too have often wondered about writing for a living and the possible outcomes of that. But no matter what I do, I want to always keep writing. I’ve also read every one of your posts since you were freshly pressed and I just want to say, keep up the good work!

  6. xxalikatxx says :

    β€œThe scariest moment is always just before you start.”
    ― Stephen King, On Writing

    I’ve wanted to write a novel for awhile now, but have a high standard of perfection for myself that I didn’t think I could attain. After seeing Stephen King say this I thought “This is exactly what I’m doing”. I’m giving into my fear. I’ll never write anything good if I never write at all. So one night I started to write. I don’t know what it’s going to turn into, and I could work on it for weeks, months or years before I feel like I’ve perfected it, but the point is, I had the courage to start it. Don’t give up on your dreams! You really can do anything if you’re determined enough! Who cares what other people say, starting is the hardest part, and if you start and never finish at least you had the courage to try. No one can fault you for that. Not a single person can condemn you for having that kind of courage. So like you said, screw the haters. Haters gonna hate. And frankly, they aren’t even worth our time. People will always hate to make themselves feel better. I take courage knowing that I’m bigger than that. Anyone who has the courage to sit down and write like you do, to strangers or not, is an inspiration.

  7. dabbledoer says :

    I have had my dreams dashed by the well meaning, usually those closest to me. Without dreams, dreams so big that we have to continue reaching, what is left? Waking up every day-going to that job, because it pays the bills you owe? If that is it, please start looking for for things you can sink your teeth into. if you are one of the lucky ones who has found something that just feels right, so right that even when it seems impossible – so impossible that you can’t see how you would be able to do anything but fail, then I say jump in the deep end, flail around, make a splash, enjoy it! The sides of the pool are always there if you need to take a break. Don’t ever give up. :)You can’t do anything but succeed.

  8. Ankita says :

    I see so much of myself in you. I too joined a career my parents wanted me to, for fear of failure in the field of my passion and a general lack of courage i’d say. But i think you can’t hold yourself back from doing what you’re truly meant to do in life! I too have been thinking of writing a novel and for gauging response i might as well write it in a blog.. What would you say to that?

    • janinerussell says :

      I think that might be risky. On the plus side, you can get feedback from people and make improvements. But you would also run the risk of someone stealing your ideas. If I do decide to go ahead with the book, I wouldn’t post the whole thing on here, maybe just snippets to gauge the response. That’s what I would suggest.

      • Ankita says :

        Hey thanks for your reply! Really sweet of you.
        Hmmm.. You’re right. Posting the whole thing on a blog is too risky. Your idea would give the best of both worlds.

  9. tinablogsalot says :

    I love this. I’d like to make a book suggestion? Check out When God Winks by Squire Rushnell. πŸ˜‰

  10. cheekymarketing says :

    Great post! I’m fairly new to blogging, but loving every second of it..only thing I have to get my head around really is understanding WordPress. I enjoy reading your posts, keep up the great work! πŸ™‚

  11. C.J. Black says :

    Courage girl that’s all it takes and you you have that in spades – continued success.

  12. words4jp says :

    I have enjoyed everything that you have written since I discovered you, via you liking one of my posts. I believe you are a wonderful writer – very poised and I look forward to your future posts. You are right – “Writing is hard”. Anything that requires even an ounce of creativity is difficult. Creativity comes from one’s imagination. One’s imagination come’s from one’s thoughts, feelings, experiences, hopes and the ‘heart’. When we write, we are vulnerable – all of these variables are ‘thrown out there’ for the world to experience and that, let’s face it, is a crap shoot. I always tell myself that it is impossible to please everyone. You can, however, try to please yourself and if that means writing, so do it!

    And the novel? To bottom line it, the only ‘thing’ standing between you and your keyboard is you. The courage is there – it’s being blocked by ‘the inner voice’ that holds you back. Grab this inner voice, stomp on it and let the voice of strength and fearlessness shine!

  13. purpleperceptions says :

    Hey Janine. πŸ™‚

    I started following you (wow that sounds a bit creepy) before the freshly pressed happened. So typical of my life, I discover something smashingly splendiferous (your blog, wuvs) and then all of a sudden the whole world is there too. πŸ˜›

    Maybe earlier things weren’t conducive for you to write. I mean, I love writing but my career choice kind of clashes with that, so for now all I can afford is a toe in the other boat. But you’ve already heard from practically every person on every post, that you’re a great writer. You really are! You needn’t doubt that in any way at all! Just pull up your socks and run down the pages. I can’t wait to see a book already! πŸ™‚

Join the Conversation

