I Don’t Know What I’m Doing, But I’m Good At Faking It

After this sudden huge influx of readers (welcome by the way!), I feel somewhat conflicted. My post about how to blog better has brought in so much traffic, and a lot of them have decided to follow me for future insights. Well… to be honest, that post was kind of a fluke. I was actually pissed off about some interactions I had with another person on their blog, and decided to make rules that that person was violating (most specifically the point about hate language). This all sounds pretty funny now that I think about it. And the irony of having my first significant blog success by blogging about blogging is not lost on me either.

If you’ve read my list of 50 confessions, you might remember # 49, “I don’t know what I’m doing, but I’m good at faking it”. That’s exactly what happened with that post. The problem is that people take me seriously because I sound like I know what I’m talking about a lot of the time. Which in itself I find kind of humourous.

But now the fear sets in. What if all those people who are following me now expect more posts like that? I’m certainly not always filled with insight. And I write about a lot of things that most people probably don’t care about. I guess what I’m trying to say is I’m going to go back to doing what I have been doing all along. Writing about what’s on my mind, documenting my struggles, and maybe more good things will come. You never know. I feel like people are going to be watching what I’m doing now, and scrutinizing me when I go against my own rules. It’s a lot of pressure!

So I just wanted to clear the air a bit. I’m not always going to blog about blogging, and I’m not always going to have helpful tips that apply to everyone around the world in all walks of life.

That being said, thanks for being here now. It would be awesome if stuff I post in the future is helpful to you, or gets you thinking. That is enough of a victory for me.

I hope we can make this work.

-Janine

Tags: ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

28 responses to “I Don’t Know What I’m Doing, But I’m Good At Faking It”

  1. areed090290 says :

    Eh, fluke or not it was great! To me, a good blogger is blogging from your heart. You were absolutely right with everything you said. I hope my blog is good.. I mean, I have 14 followers(the only reason I follow myself is so I can see where I’m at in the reader) in 3 days. I don’t think that matters though, I personally think as long as you’re blogging what you feel, it’ll all come out perfectly, and if someone doesn’t think it’s perfect, tell them to go put juice in their juice box and suck it in a different direction! 🙂

  2. browntroutfisherman says :

    Lol… I just love your honesty – keep it up 🙂

  3. Rae says :

    What’s the saying? “Fake it till you make it!”

  4. Khushbo says :

    Isn’t that what we’re all doing, “faking” it. I think it’s true at some level for everyone. And if you fake it well enough, long enough at some point, you’re no longer faking it and you don’t even know it! lol I did read some of your other stuff, I am glad you don’t just write about blogging. Following cause I enjoyed your writing!

  5. thefilmosopher says :

    As someone who started following before the Freshly Pressed wave, I just want to say you should definitely keep up what you’ve been doing, you’re one of the few blogs I follow and both your honesty and insights have been entertaining and worthwhile. Just be yourself, if people scrutinize you or stop following you, they’re not worth your time or worrying.

  6. The Joy Underneath says :

    I’m following you because you write so well, so naturally, and I don’t think that part can be faked!

  7. Jordan Green says :

    I’m sure this is what you wanted though. Congratulations on all the new followers (I’m one of them). There shouldn’t be more pressure to write quality articles. You should think all your articles are quality. The only difference now is you get heard by more people, which is always good. More input and criticism can help you grow.

  8. @justbeingarlyn says :

    Just keep on writing! It’s your blog. And fear not what others would think or expect of you. It’s bloggers like you that motivates me to keep on doing it too – no mater what I end up writing about.. You can’t control the readers.. But you’d be surprised how through your sharing will inspire others – in your own special way 🙂 So cheers to that!

  9. prashlive says :

    You have a wonderful sense of writing. I liked the straight forwardness and simplicity of your posts !!!

  10. purpleperceptions says :

    You’re doing a great job! Rooting for you with pompoms, woot. =)

  11. stylewaffle says :

    Know the feeling: vulnerable and exposed! Think it’s part of the blogging process…… People like reading you, time to ease up on yourself 🙂 We can all learn from that!

  12. Cheryl Paroyan Photography says :

    It’s just nice to know that others out there feel the same way and have the same struggles, so I am looking forward to reading more of your thoughts since sometimes I need a break from my own. haha. Congrats on all the new followers! I just started blogging and now have 3. I was sadly thrilled until I discovered that one of them was myself. LOL.

  13. zainabattari says :

    I found you by fluke and followed you because the way you think and write is similar to me! And I won’t not follow you because you might now be able to generate good posts! I Love your writing and I will read it no matter what! 😀 CHEERS!

  14. loversl0stinspace says :

    Just carry on writing a blog YOU enjoy,dont worry what others think,its your blog 🙂 If people like what you write then thats a bonus! 🙂

  15. dianacv2013 says :

    Don’t stress too much about it, we’re all in the same boat (somewhat), keep writing from the heart and it will show here. If someone doesn’t like your future posts, that’s their loss. You did write what you thought worked, and it has…it was one topic…you can write about any topic. This is your place.

  16. Theresa Jewel Ammons says :

    We love you for who you are and what you write. Just write for yourself!

  17. MYNDFUQ says :

    Janine,

    I hear what you’re saying. The difference i’ve noticed between your ordinary blogger and an extra-ordinary blogger is they have a voice. Your voice is something you and only you can own. Regardless of the subject, shit, you can talk about gun control (a subject i’m thoroughly sick of hearing about) and instill your voice, and I would still enjoy the post.

    Your voice is your breathe.. the handwriting that separates you from other writers. I think many of us are here because we want to hear your voice and like any other fan of a musician, I’m here because you sing so well. Adam Levine can sing a song by 2 chainz and still make it appealing. It’s the same thing. Keep writing and best of luck to you~

    Mikey

  18. tehilalilly says :

    Janine, keep writing the fact that it is from your heart and makes you happy makes all the difference. keep on keeping on.

  19. katsaysmooo says :

    I’m a new follower because of the freshly pressed wave, but all of your blogs are genuine. I love these kind of of blogs more because it feels like there’s a person writing them, not robots. Just keep writing what you want, because this is YOUR blog.

  20. Mouse says :

    Echoing someone else’s comment, you are genuine. I know I’ve never commented on any other post of yours before, but I now also follow your blog. I have nominated you for the Gargie Award. http://girlinabasement.wordpress.com/2013/01/27/the-gargie-award/

  21. Katrina says :

    Writing from the heart is what most important of all. Because it is where all the ideas came from. I love this!

Join the Conversation

