Being “Freshly Pressed”

First of all, I would just like to say,

THIS IS COMPLETE AND UTTER CHAOS.

I was just at school, making a post about something not particularly important but somewhat funny in my mind, when I noticed someone “liked” my post from a few days ago. And then another. And then another.

I have been looking at that little stats bar at the top of my screen for days. Most of that time was spent wondering how the “+8” or whatever it says that day is based on. I would watch it sink, then decide I need something good to bring it back up. Then I would post and it would go up, maybe to “+12”.

At this point I was thinking, hey, look at me, blogging like a pro. Got my +12 on. (Yes, this is actually how I think)

But then, there was a spike. Like all of a sudden someone had used auto-click software to refresh the page thousands of times in one minute. Which is what I assumed had happened when I closed up my laptop and went to class.

Two hours later, after my finance class if that is relevant, I came back and checked my blog again.

And there were what looks like hundred of likes, comments, even follows. And to be honest, it took me quite a while to figure out where all this new traffic was coming from.

My mind is still reeling. In order to avoid doing a terrible speech in which I thank everyone I’ve ever known, I just want to say this:

Your blog is a piece of yourself. Let it represent you. Inspire you. Shape you, and how you view the world. This is a chance for you to openly and honestly talk about whatever you want to talk about.

And if becoming “freshly pressed” has taught me anything, it’s that people are listening.

Thank you to all of my readers. You have no idea how much it means to me that there are people out there who are willing to listen.

And thank you to the WordPress Angel who selected my post to be on freshly pressed. High fives all around, and you get a big, virtual bear hug.

Keep on writing, bloggers. You never know when something you say will be able to help someone else. And you never know who’s listening.

-Janine

Tags: ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

15 responses to “Being “Freshly Pressed””

  1. erinorange says :

    Congrats! You’re a really good writer πŸ™‚

  2. porcelainred says :

    congrats babe πŸ™‚

  3. purpleperceptions says :

    People are definitely listening. Congratulations Janine! Not because you’re freshly pressed, that was well deserved and ultimately inevitable, but more so because someone finally woke up n pinned you there on the FP. Hope you’re having a smashing day! πŸ™‚

  4. lexsborgia says :

    magic fairy dust. Jolly good that. I’m freshly pressed between the covers, itz -10degrees, 23:45 here. Up in 6hrs. Dead. Savour the moment for a very long time. Wicked shizzle. Now, get those other nine piggies wiggling.

  5. anay007 says :

    Im going to be really honest – I think there are other posts on here that deserve to be freshly pressed than the one that did. In saying htat I am glad you were because your blog is really awesome and I don’t follow many blogs and read them with such care as I did your posts πŸ˜€

  6. tinywestervelt says :

    I know exactly what you mean! someone mentioned my blog in A Fb post and I felt like the Queen called or something!:) you ARE an awesome writer πŸ™‚

  7. honestpuck says :

    It is a shock isn’t it. I was stunned at getting “Freshly Pressed” and surprised at all the traffic it generated.

    It skews your stats for weeks since it also puts the post up the top of the popular list and then everyone who visits has a chance of clicking on it.

  8. mauigirrrl says :

    You inspire me πŸ™‚

  9. Novy says :

    Hey, I have read some of your blogs and they were cool. I am new to this site so I really wanted to know friends here πŸ™‚ Your writing are motivations.

  10. Allison (Spontaneous Tomato) says :

    Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  11. Drops of Ink says :

    Congrats! πŸ™‚

  12. kidsrecipesandorganisedchaos says :

    I just came across your blog, and I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts. Thanks for the great writing!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. I Want It! And I Want It Now! « The Ranting Papizilla - January 23, 2013

Join the Conversation

