Beginning Again

This post isn’t about me. I just want to share my all-time favourite poem. Comments welcome.

Beginning Again– by Franz Wright

“If I could stop talking, completely
cease talking for a year, I might begin
to get well,” he muttered.
Off alone again performing
brain surgery on himself
in a small badly lit
room with no mirror. A room
whose floor ceiling and walls
are all mirrors, what a mess
oh my God—

And still
it stands,
the question
not how begin
again, but rather

Why?

So we sit there
together
the mountain
and me, Li Po
said, until only the mountain
remains.

Tags: , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

Join the Conversation

