Some Dreams Don’t Go Away As You Get Older

When you were growing up did you ever have a silly dream about what you wanted to be when you grow up? Do you have any that you’ve held on to, even into adulthood?

When I was young I wanted to take a dance class. I asked my mom to put me into either ballet, tap, or gymnastics. My parents ended up putting my sister and I into a rhythmic gymnastics class when I was about 8. It was okay, but I wasn’t very flexible and the classes weren’t frequent enough to actually help me get better. When we moved to a new city at age 9, they put us in a regular gymnastics class. I did that once per week for two years, but it was too laid back to help me improve, and I wasn’t flexible enough or good enough to do the more intense class that was twice as long, so eventually I gave it up.

Still, though, I’ve never really gotten rid of my love for dance. I was a cheerleader at age 13, and I loved the dancing part of it. By then, though, I felt I was too old to start something new that people have done since they were young. I was already playing piano and soccer, so I gave up on the idea, and accepted that it was something I couldn’t do.

Now that I’ve moved away from home, my interest in dance has been somewhat rekindled. I decided that if I was ever going to learn ballet, why not do it now? I’ve heard of people starting when they were adults, even after reaching retirement, and it is definitely a great way to stay in shape. I’m bored of running, even though I do love doing it. I’m ready for a change.

So one day I walked into the women-only gym that is very close to my house, just on a whim. And they had a special holiday deal on that includes a 6-week class and 5 walk-ins. And it was at a price I can afford, despite having a gym membership at the university already. And one of the 6-week courses you can take is ballet fundamentals.

I have been dreaming of learning ballet since I was a little girl. I hope this class turns out to be everything I’ve been dreaming of. And who knows, if I like it I might be able to  pursue it in a real class to learn some real skills.

That being said, I’m not flexible, I’m clumsy, and I can’t really dance. I just have a dream, and I decided now is as good a time as ever to try. What’s the worst that could happen?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

Join the Conversation

