2.4 Some Men Aren’t Worth Your Time

I’ve been thinking about the guy I hooked up with when I was on basic, and how funny that whole situation was. When we were on basic, no one was allowed to know we were together, so we had to sneak around during the night (taking time up from our allotted 6.5 hours of sleep might I add) and would hide behind a washing machine in the laundry room and fool around. We almost got caught a couple times because there would always be two people with flashlights walking around on fire picket. [The main idea of fire picket was to look for any crazy fires popping up while people slept, but really it was just a way to make sure everyone who had to do it that night was more tired and miserable the next day.]

So I fooled around with this guy for a while, and then basic ended and we split up. I kind of missed him, but I think it was just the idea of him that I missed to be honest. Even though I knew we would split up, I was kind of sad when he didn’t stay in contact with me. I tried to text him a couple of times, but never got an answer. Now, I didn’t end up losing my virginity to this guy, and thank goodness considering later he wouldn’t even text me back.

But one day, a few weeks later, I got out of the shower and checked my phone. There was a message from him. And I kid you not, it said, “are you clean?”. No, he wasn’t referring to the fact that I just got out of the shower. He thought I had given him some sort of STD. And you can bet when I saw that I was really pissed off. The nerve of him! I don’t hear for him for weeks, and this is the first thing he says to me?!?

And then I got worried he had somehow given me some sort of disease, so I answered him for clarification. The idiot had found an ingrown hair, and was worried I had given him AIDS. And then we went back to not talking to each other.

A couple of months ago, though, he sent me a message on Facebook. He was really apologetic about how he had treated me, and explained he had gone through some tough things these last couple of years, and even said he had been in jail because of his anger.

That’s unfortunate, but it still doesn’t mean he deserves to be treated kindly by me. I hope things are going better for him, but whether or not they are I don’t care enough to find out.

So let’s all take a moment to realize that some people (not just guys) are jerks, and that we deserve to be treated better. After that, I will never settle for being treated poorly. I’m glad I learned that lesson when I was 18, so that now I can focus on what I do want in my life, instead of what I don’t.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

One response to “2.4 Some Men Aren’t Worth Your Time”

  1. jmato012 says :

    He definitely did not treat you well, and any girl I know would probably feel the same way as your do. However one thing that I learned is that nobody is simply a “jerk”. Human behavior is a lot more complicated than that and there is always the “other side” of things to be considered. I’m not saying you’re wrong but you always have to keep that in mind.

Join the Conversation

