2.2 The Letter

So while I was on my 9-week long military training, I already mentioned that I broke up with Sarah because of the guilt I felt over wanting to be with someone else. And that someone else ended up being a complete ass to me and my friends. In fact, my friends once told me that they don’t see why I liked him, and I probably should have paid more attention to that.

Anyways, there were 7 girls and 31 guys in my platoon (there were 4 platoons, all living in the same building but in different wings of the building, and we weren’t allowed to talk to any of the others). And as time went on, the guys seemed to be getting more and more desperate for female attention. But they weren’t the only ones.

My roommate (I dont know if she wants her name in here, so I will leave it out for now) was the kind of girl who needs a lot of attention. Not that that’s a bad thing, she just is more sociable than I am. Anyways, she made up her mind that she wanted to lose her virginity that summer, and began looking for a guy to get with. She set her sights on a guy in the platoon across the hallway from us. The guys had to come to our wing of the building to shower and use the washroom, and us girls had to go to their win for the same things. So every night we would see this guy, and sometimes he would stop by our room and talk to her. They started writing each other letters, handing them off every day when we went to shower.

One day I told him to “spice up” the letters he was handing her. His next letter was very graphic, and it was definitely entertaining to all of us who got to read it. Let’s just say my roommate was very interested in this guy. But somehow an accident occurred, and one of our instructors got hold of the letter.

Now, it was lucky that they never signed their real names, because fraternization will get you sent home fast if you are caught doing anything inappropriate. We were even told one day that guys are not allowed to brush females’ hair. They were that serious about it. The instructor who found the letter lined us up one day, and started yelling at us. He used to be a cop, and he was determined to find out who this letter was from. He said he analyzed the handwriting, and knew the person was left-handed, and that they crossed their T’s from right to left. He said he had it narrowed down to two people. And someone would be sent home if he found out who it was.

What he didn’t know, though, is that since it was a guy from the other platoon, he wasn’t even there to hear this. We got a bit of a kick out of how the instructor was trying so hard to scare us. But that wasn’t where it ended. Later that day, the instructor yelled at me to come over to him privately. He began to interrogate me. It went something like this:

“Ordinary Seaman Russell!” (that was my rank at the time)

“Yes, Master Seaman?” (his rank)

“Do you know who wrote this letter?”

“No, Master Seaman” (A lie. Which could also get me in a lot of trouble. But hey, gotta be there for your roommates.)

“Were there any boys in your room last night?”

“No, Master Seaman”

“Were there any….girls in your room last night?”

“Yes Master Seaman.” I gave him the name of my two female friends who were also in the room and read the letter.

“Are either of them…involved with your roommate?”

At this point I laughed quite hard because he was definitely headed in the wrong direction.

“I had to ask. It’s a new military.”

So in any case, I kept quiet, and he never found out who wrote that letter. But this whole thing scared the guy off, and he didn’t want to risk getting sent home. So she had no choice but to move on.

And that’s where the real fun begins.

To be continued…

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. V Card or no V Card? That is the Question. « To Second Chances - December 22, 2012

Join the Conversation

