The Next Chapter

When I was younger I used to write in a diary. It wasn’t the most profound writing, but it served a purpose. One of the things I used to write about a lot was how when I was older my life would be so much different, so much better. A lot of the things I wrote about, though, were about the things around me improving so that I could become happier where I am. Now that I have had a few years to develop as a person, I wish I could say something to the younger me. It isn’t about the things you own or the number of friends you have that will make you happy.

As I have left my teens and am now on my own attempting to get by as an adult, I have learned that in many ways, less is ultimately more. I left my home town, brought only what I thought I would need, and left a lot of awesome people behind. I live in a basement that has a centipede problem and sometimes water drips from the ceiling. I don’t have very much money, and I don’t know anyone at the university I go to.

And despite it all, I’ve never been happier.

Leaving home was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. I took a lot of risks, and it’s hard to be so far away from my friends and family. But I knew if I stayed, Winnipeg would continue to make me miserable. I needed that freedom, and to take the chance at being independent in order to grow as a person. I’ve learned a lot these past few months, out of necessity.

What I’m trying to say is it doesn’t matter how others see your life, it’s all about how you look at it and how you feel. If you think it was worth it, then it is. Decide what you want, take a chance, and stick with it. We are writing our own stories every single day, and I wasn’t about to let mine become predictable.

Do I miss home? Every single day. And I know my life would be so much easier if I stayed. I’m sure there are a lot of people out there who think it was silly of me to leave half way through my degree and want to finish it somewhere else. They can think what they want.. Find what makes you happy, and hold on tight. I’ve spent too many years of my life trying to make everyone else happy.

This is the next chapter in the story of my life.

And this one is about me.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About janinerussell

The transition to adulthood; reflecting on the past to create a better future.

Join the Conversation

